top of page
Search

How to Introduce Your Cat to New Environments

We move; we adapt to new routines; we grow and change and need new things. And (most of the time) we take our pets with us through all of this. Since we can’t just sit them down and explain what’s happening, it can be a great deal of stress for a pet to see bags being packed, furniture coming and going, things being moved around in a room, and just any of the many things we do through all of these changes.

There’s good news! There are are ways to make this easier for our feline friends!


I break it down to the 3 T's:

  1. Time

  2. Talking

  3. Touch

As long as you make sure to keep spending time with your pet, touching them as you pass them, and talking to and at them throughout all of this, you can reassure them that they are still part of your life and that they won’t be left behind.


Of course it is more complicated than this. However, I know for a fact that it works. My Prince Fredward has been with me for 10 years now. I got him when my Pop-Pop moved into my parents’ home while I was at college. The cat of course stayed at my parents’ house, but he was mine. And I knew he was going to be mine forever at that moment.


When I came home, he was a wild thing at 6 years old needing a ton of training and patience. My poor mother went through a lot of this herself that first year while I was coming and going. He was mine while I was living with my parents after college; he was mine when I moved into my first apartment, and then my second, and then my third. And he’s mine now that I own my home and have my own business. He has been through a lot with me, and I with him. One thing I can be sure to do is reassure him that he will always come with me.


TALKING

As I start to move stuff and he comes in to sneak around and sniff and see what’s going on, I speak to him. I ask him if he likes it. I tell him he’s a good boy. I move patiently and slowly so he can go around things. I take care not to yell at him to get out of the way or get frustrated and irritated that I can’t go as fast as I want. Remember, your cat actually can’t understand what you’re saying. So if you’re reacting to them getting in the way with frustration, they’re nervous they’re the issue. You need to take the time still be with them and let them know that they’re still with you. Pet them, talk to them, spend the time with them.

TAKE A BREAK

I take breaks! Yes, yes, I know this sounds like it’s also for me, but cats get overstimulated very easily. When I notice that Fredward is starting to twitch his tail because he doesn’t know what’s going on and he himself is agitated, I put things down and sit and call him over. I pet him and tell him he’s a good boy and let him sniff. I might get a snack or watch TV for a little bit and let him get used to whatever pile I was doing at the moment when he came to see what’s up.

ROUTINE

I stick to my routine! This means that everyone still gets dinner and breakfast at the same time. Everyone still gets the same playtime. Everyone still gets cuddles and loves from me as I come and go as if I was just coming and going from work and errands. The best thing to do is to keep them in your world. Keep paying attention to them. Once you start to ignore them, you make them nervous that they will not be going with you.

PETS GO LAST

I take them only once I’m ready to stay in the new place with them! They are going to be scared and

overwhelmed and looking to you for attention and reassurance. I know that they’ll see things leaving from the old place. But as long as you keep going and coming and sticking to routines, then they’ll know things are changing, but that they are still part of the changes. Only when you are ready to sleep in the new place and spend some time--whether that be sleeping that first night or taking a day off to spend with them--should you take them. They’ll feel much braver exploring new things knowing that you are there and still doing the same routine with and for them.

USE ONE ROOM

I start out with everything in one room for easy access. Especially for scaredy cats, this is so important. You want to make sure that they have plenty of room to hide and maneuver in and out of the furniture and boxes while still being safe. And you want them to be able to find their litter, food, and water easily and close to one or many of those places.

TOUCH, TALK, AND TIME

And lastly, I take the time to touch and talk to them once at the new place! Tell them they’re such good babies. Tell them they’re brave for walking around and exploring. Tell them they’re pretty and cute and all the things you would be telling them anyways.


If this is for a long term moving to a new place, these steps and the 3 T’s will be enough to reassure your pet that everything is going to be fine.


However, if this is just for a trip to the vet, I’m afraid that your cat will probably know and be upset and scared during the trip. There are products such as Feliway and Calming collars that will help in times of short term stress such as this. This product is a synthetic pheromone meant to smell like what a mother cat would put off to make her kittens know things are safe. In the same way, a Calming Collar has synthetic and other safe and natural elements to it to make your cat feel safer.


Feliway is a great tool to use if your pet is an anxious pet to begin with! I’d recommend getting a wall plug through Comfort Zone on Amazon (I have a link for this to the left) with for this purpose. For short term stresses such a vet trips, you can spray the carrier down with Feliway and this will help to calm your cat during that short trip and check up.


For other short term stresses such as furniture changes to the home, people coming and going for a party that doesn’t usually happen, and other short term things, I am a big believer in the 3 T’s. Making your cat know that they are a part of your life and your routine no matter what will go a long way in making them a well-adjusted cat.


For any questions about details in any of these topics, book a time with me, The Cat Granny, for advice and behavioral help with your feline! You can call me at 909-741-6335, email at thecatgranny@gmail.com, or fill out the Contact Us form on the website.

12 views0 comments

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page